Coming Sonn...


Untitled Document

About Pakistan

Official Name:

Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Father of the Nation : Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah (1876-1948)

National Poet : Allama Muhammad Iqbal (1877-1938)

Capital: Islamabad

Area :
Total: 803, 940
Sindh:140,914 Sq. km
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa:74,521
Federally Administered Tribal Areas:27,220
Islamabad (Capital):906

Population: 180.8 million (UN, 2009)

Administrative Setup :

Pakistan is divided into four provinces viz., Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province (KPK), Punjab, Sindh and Balochistan. The tribal belt adjoining KPK is managed by the Federal Government and is named FATA i.e., Federally Administered Tribal Areas. Azad Kashmir and Northern Areas have their own respective political and administrative machinery, yet certain of their subjects are taken care of by the Federal Government through the Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Northern Areas. Provinces of Pakistan are further divided into Divisions and Districts.
Divisions Districts

KPK 7 24

Punjab 8 34

Sindh 5 21

Balochistan 6 22

While FATA consist of 13 Areas/Agencies and Azad Kashmir and Northern Areas have 7 and 5 Districts respectively.


97% Muslims, (77 % Sunni, 20% Shi'a) Christian Hindu 3%

Annual Per capita income : US $980 (World Bank, 2008).



Internet Domain:



Pak. Rupee

Imports :

Industrial equipment, chemicals, vehicles, steel, iron ore, petroleum, edible oil, pulses, tea.

Exports :

Cotton, textile goods, rice, leather items, carpets, sports goods, handi-crafts, fish and fish prep and fruit.

Languages :

Urdu(National) and English (Official)

Literacy rate :



Parliamentary form


Parliament consists of two Houses i.e., the Senate (Upper House) and the National Assembly (Lower House).
The Senate is a permanent legislative body and symbolises a process of continuity in the National Affairs. It consists of 100 members. The four Provincial Assemblies, Federally Administered Tribal Areas and Federal Capital form its electoral college.

The National Assembly has a total membership of 342 elected through adult suffrage (272 general seats, 60 women seats and 10 non-Muslim seats).

Pakistan National Flag :

Dark green with a white vertical bar, a white crescent and a five-pointed star in the middle. The Flag symbolizes Pakistan's profound commitment to Islam, the Islamic world and the rights of religious minorities.

National Anthem:

Approved in August, 1954
Verses Composed by: Abdul Asar Hafeez Jullundhri
Tune Composed by: Ahmed G. Chagla
Duration: 80 seconds

State Emblem:

The State Emblem consists of:

  1. The crescent and star which are symbols of Islam
  2. The shield in the centre shows four major crops
  3. Wreath surrounding the shield represents cultural heritage and
  4. Scroll contains Quaid's motto: Unity Faith, Discipline

Pakistan's Official Map:

Drawn by Mian Mahmood Alam Suhrawardy (1920-1999)

National Flower :


National Tree : Deodar (Cedrus Deodara)

National Animal:


National Bird:

Chakor (Red-legged partridge)


Pine, Oak, Poplar, Deodar, Maple, Mulberry


The Pheasant, Leopard, Deer, Ibex, Chinkara, Black buck, Neelgai, Markhor, Marco-Polo sheep, Green turtles, River & Sea fish, Crocodile, Waterfowls.

Popular games:

Cricket, Hockey, Football, Squash

Tourist's resorts:

Murree, Quetta, Hunza, Ziarat, Swat, Kaghan, Chitral and Gilgit

Archaeological sites:

Moenjo Daro, Harappa, Taxila, Kot Diji, Mehr Garh, Takht Bhai